Fred Mouton

'Die Burger' has had just three full time daily cartoonists since it was founded in 1915 under the editorship of DF Malan; all three of them giants of South African cartooning. The great Daniel Boonzaier eventually gave way to TO Honiball who was joined in 1972 by FRED MOUTON who took over the position in 1976 and has held it ever since.

Fred has also contributed editorial cartoons to 'Beeld' and 'Rapport' and does illustrations and cartoons for a host of books and magazines. He is a recipient of The Standard Bank Cartoonist of The Year Award (1983) and in 2000 was awarded the PJ Cillie' Medal for Creativity in Journalism. Fred has published three collections of his work, the most recent being "Van Zuma tot Zille" in 2009, and his work has been featured amongst the country's best in 'The Year in Cartoons' collections for 2009 and 2010.

In the following video clip Fred is acknowledged to be world class by his editor, Bun Booyens, who also reveals some interesting anecdotes about the master.

Cartoons by Fred Mouton

Showing 85 - 112 of 703 cartoons