Standard Bank Announces Finalists for Sikuvile Journalism Award

Sikuvile Awards Logo

The Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Award finalists have been announced, and three cartoonists have been short listed to win recognition for the best editorial cartoon. The judging panel, convened by Paula Fray, noted the high standard of the submissions in all categories, and believed that the finalists chosen aptly underscored this year’s theme – perfect balance.
After an intense two-day session deciding on the finalists, Fray said, “We assessed a very large sample of South African newspaper journalism, and were able to conclude that the best entries were of superb standard. The standard of editorial cartooning in this country improves every year. Most newspapers can count on having at least one sophisticated editorial cartoon in each edition. The major improvement has been to the quality of the draughtsmanship. The more difficult trick, making a sharp point while avoiding the obvious, is more elusive.”

The three finalist cartoonists are (in no particular order)

* The Citizen's SIWELA, for his cartoon titled “Corruption cripples SA”,
* ZAPIRO for his cartoon in the Mail & Guardian titled “Mac Maharaj side-order”
* MILES for his Daily Dispatch cartoon titled "Polar Bear – “chillin’ in Durbs”

The cartoons were assessed for their graphic imagery, originality, cleverness and political or social punch, with due consideration to their simplicity, topicality and humour.
Cartoon by SIWELA   Cartoon by ZAPIRO    Cartoon by MILES

The renamed awards (formerly known as the Mondi Shanduka Newspaper Awards), recognise outstanding pieces of journalism in print and online, covering a wide range of categories including hard news, analysis, feature writing, investigative journalism, creative journalism, photography (news, sports and features), design and layout as well as graphic journalism as a separate entity to editorial cartooning. The graphic journalism finalists are Jaco Grobbelaar (of City Press and Rapport), Rudi Louw (City Press), Morne Schaap (Graphics24) and John McCann of the Mail & Guardian was commended.

Winners will be announced at an awards evening on August 28 where the winner of each category will receive a R15 000 prize and a trophy.

Posted on Jul 31, 2012 by Africartoons Bookmark and Share